Blog Archives

Listen to PDF Database Articles

You may have to do a little bit more work to listen to a database article in PDF format, but it’s relatively easy, and a good skill to master as nearly all full-text articles in databases (EBSCOHost and ProQuest) come

Tagged with: ,
Posted in News

Listen to HTML Database Articles

If you are visually impaired, or working with someone who is, try listening to an article from one of our EBSCOHost databases. Although HTML articles are not as common as PDFs when you have the option choose HTML over PDF.

Tagged with:
Posted in News

Google Scholar

We are now included in Google Scholar as Full-text @ Bank Street. If you would like to try this out there is a courtesy link for Google Scholar on our database page. If you go to Google Scholar at Bank

Tagged with: ,
Posted in News, Resources

Reference Questions: Searching for Database Articles in Spanish.

Q: Can I search for database articles in Spanish? A: It’s possible to search for database articles in Spanish. However, the results are much smaller, and not all databases offer searching in languages other than English. Here’s a list of

Tagged with: ,
Posted in News

EBSCOHost’s Share Feature

In this post I’m exploring some hidden but useful features found on all EBSCOHost database pages. This one is called Share, and you’ll find it on the far side of your screen. It’s best to make a MyEBSCOHost account and

Tagged with:
Posted in News, Resources

Find an Article

Sometimes when you want to find some articles really quickly using the Library’s homepage search box is the way to go. It’s quite easy. All you need to do is select the Find an Article radio button and write some

Tagged with:
Posted in Resources

ProQuest: Publishers

Although, ProQuest is not a very big database at Bank Street, many patrons are familiar and comfortable with it from time at other institutions. ProQuest has a different feel. Here’s how to find out about publications in ProQuest: Click Publications

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Resources

OmniFile: Publishers

Each database seems to have it’s own way of presenting information on publishers. Here’s how OmniFile Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson) does it: First up, click Publications: Second, work in the Browse box Type Mathematics Check the By Subject &

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in News, Resources

EBSCOHost: Publishers

There are a number of ways you can find out where articles on teaching mathematics have been published. One way is to look in a database. In this example we’ll use EBSCOHost’s Academic Search Premiere. First go to the Library’s

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Resources

Google Scholar: Metrics

Have you ever wondered what the top 20 most popular early childhood academic journals are (according to Google Scholar)? Well, wonder no more! Go to Google Scholar In the right hand corner click Metrics Scroll down to Social Sciences Click

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Resources
Library on Instagram
New discovery in an old passport-President John Niemeyer's 1955 vacation to Cuba #tbt #bankstreetarchives Pop up creation from our Writers Lab Mini-Con this morning. Paper engineers are awesome. Thanks to our great teacher Becca Zerkin! #cclminicon3 #paperengineer #popup Big books! #tbt 1978 "Why are we engaged in changing our system of measure?" Wow, there is a lot about the metric system that I did not know. #bankstreetarchives #metricmeasurement #bankstreetpublications Our big books in their new, more browser friendly, home. Come check them out across from the reference desk. #bigbooks #bankstreetlibrary It's #nationalpoetrymonth! Come to the library to check out a few of our favorites and add some favorite poets or poems of your own. #poems #poetry #bulletinboards Wonder Woman Series 10th Anniversary Library display. Wonder Woman series by Nina Jaffe. Photo of children's painting, 1982 #tbt #bankstreetarchives #bankstreetschoolforchildren #kidart
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers