Blog Archives

EBSCO Discovery Service (Trial)

We’re pretty excited about a new product called EBSCOhost Discovery Service (EDS). It has the ability to “search everything” the Library subscribes to, or owns (except ProQuest). Yes, that’s right: Books in the stacks eBooks databases topic specific YouTube videos

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in News

Full Text Finder

Index A-Z, also known as Find a Journal (and sometimes Online Journal Finder) just got better and it’s now called Full Text Finder. You can still use it to find out where a journal resides. i.e., in print and/or online,

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in News, Resources

Google Scholar Button

In Firefox it’s called an Add-on and in Chrome it’s called an Extension. You may have already been asked to add it to your toolbar, if you haven’t done so, add it now. It’s also a good idea to sign-in

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in News

Google Scholar: Metrics 2014

Each year Google Scholar releases a series of metrics reports on publications that are popular amongst researchers. Journal ranking are based on how often a journal is cited. It’s a good guide for identifying resources that faculty and students can

Tagged with: ,
Posted in News, Resources

Using Our Databases: Summer I

Tagged with: ,
Posted in News

Listen to PDF Database Articles

You may have to do a little bit more work to listen to a database article in PDF format, but it’s relatively easy, and a good skill to master as nearly all full-text articles in databases (EBSCOHost and ProQuest) come

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in News

Listen to HTML Database Articles

If you are visually impaired, or working with someone who is, try listening to an article from one of our EBSCOHost databases. Although HTML articles are not as common as PDFs when you have the option choose HTML over PDF.

Tagged with: ,
Posted in News
Library on Instagram
Writer-in-Residence Family Share. Thank you 9/10’s teachers & kids, and to Renée Watson! High five to Allie and Cindy.
Library Salon #16: join @bankstreetlibrary for conversation and a book talk with Educator, Activist,and Author Jonathan Silin and his book: Early Childhood, Aging, and the Life Cycle: Mapping Common Ground. This Salon is Friday, April 13, 5:30 PM to 7:00 PM, at the Bank Street Library, 5th floor of the W.112th building. Register here: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/salon-16-jonathan-silin-registration-44120502611 @bank.street #librarysalon #jonathansilin #earlychildhoodeducation #lifecycle
Did you know that April is National Poetry Month? To celebrate the Bank Street Library created a display of poetry, that yes, is available for check out! Come by the library and see it! The display sign features the art of poet Nikki Grimes. @bank.street @school_for_children #nationalpoetrymonth #april #springisalmosthere
As the SFC students come back April 2 from their Spring Break, the Graduate School will have their SB from April 2 to April 6. Have no fear the library is open regular hours for the week! All are welcome! @school_for_children @bank.street #springbreak2018 #havefun #libraryisstillopen #bankstreetlibrary
A peek inside the library restroom. #reading #decorativeart #librarybathroom
Our graduate students hard at work in the Library! Keep up the good work everyone, spring break is almost here! @bank.street #studyhard #bankstreetlibrary #quietstudyspace
Library Salon #15 Resiliency of the Child and the Power of Play.
One of the library’s dedicated Shelvers hard at work organizing a book cart for re-shelving. #shelving #librarywork #bankstreet #workinghard #nowiknowmyabcs @bank.street @bankstreetlibrary
March is Women’s History Month. Here is the display sign and a few books on the display. Women are unbeatable. #feminism #womenhistorymonth @bank.street @bankstreetlibrary #endure #metoo